Q&A 

对话《战争机器 5》

{{ videoLinkButton.text }} {{ videoLinkButton.text }}
《战争机器 5》是 The Coalition 的第二个杜比全景声格式的游戏,拥有五种惊心动魄的游戏模式和迄今为止最深入的战役。在将杜比全景声应用到《战争机器 4》后,音频团队参考了之前的经验来升级《战争机器 5》的声音设计。The Coalition 的高级音效设计师 Josh Osiris 在这里分享了他的团队如何将杜比全景声应用于《战争机器》传新的最新力作。
《战争机器 5》中的声音设计与《战争机器 4》中的设计有何不同?
 
在《战争机器 4》发布之后,我们认真思考并研究了下一个游戏如何改进声景和声音表现。其中一个指导原则就是声音应该更为清晰、更令人专注,并且以自然的方式呈现在游戏中。我们很早就关注动效拟音和武器的音效,因为这些是游戏反馈的重要部分。

动效拟音和武器音效

Edward Bauman 重新制作了我们的整个动效拟音集,让声音更清晰、动态更大。我重新对 Lancer 的音效进行了制作,找回一些在几次游戏迭代中丢失的冲击力,同时消除大部分噪声,Ed 则添加了一些中/远距离的内容,帮助玩家了解射程有多远。

环境发声源

我们不再使用打开/关闭 2D 环境音床的音量,而是更侧重于点声源。这使用了更多的内存和语音,但它的空间效果更好,通过利用杜比全景声的顶部通道为我们提供了一个更具说服力、更自然的声音环境。

致命打击和爆头

在《战争机器 4》中,我们使用了一点奖励来告诉玩家他们什么时候击中了一个敌人,但并没有区分普通击中和致命打击。致命打击现在有自己的呈现,并根据被击中角色的类型而变化。我们也曾经用同样的方式呈现爆头,不管是玩家被爆头,还是玩家对其他人施以爆头。现在我们更加强调玩家对其他人的爆头,因为这是一个极具满足感的时刻,而被敌人爆头则可以引起玩家对威胁的关注。

威胁的优先级

我们彻底改造了混音系统,帮助玩家将注意力集中在当下最重要的事情上。我和 Jimmy Smith 添加了一个基于威胁的优先级系统,加上 Wwise HDR,动态地将混音集中在威胁较高而不是威胁较低的角色上。我们还分别实现了玩家、小队和敌人的不同分类,以进一步集中优先级并提高性能。

John Morgan 和 Clarence Chu 投入大量精力使用微软研究院的 Triton 和 Audiokinetic 的 Wwise Reflect 来对我们的实时声学系统进行升级和调音。你必须亲耳听过才能理解它有多神奇。你甚至可以感受到空间的大小并感知它是由何种材料构成的。我之前从来没有在游戏中听过这样效果!

动态混音、Triton 和高度通道的共同作用提供了如此精确的即时反馈。

Josh Osiris

我在 Wwise 中构建了一个多段旁链压缩器,通过以一种比传统单段闪避系统更自然的方式动态回避较低优先级的内容,来帮助区分我们每个子混音(即人声、武器、动效拟音、音乐、环境)的优先级。每一个子混音都通过动态降低和升高来对游戏的其余部分作出响应,从而在任何时刻都能适应游戏整体声量。
 
动态混音、Triton 和高度通道的共同作用提供了如此精确的即时反馈。使用 Dolby Atmos for Headphones 或支持杜比全景声的家庭影院系统,玩家将比不开启杜比全景声的人拥有更多优势。
 
你曾经支持《战争机器 4》制作空间音频。在《战争机器 5》的设计或制作过程中,你有没有做什么不同的事情?
 
我们开始为《战争机器 4》开发杜比全景声版本是在游戏推出后。当时,我们没有一个足够大的音频工作室来容纳所有的扬声器,所以我们在一个会议室里临时安装了一个扬声器系统,这个房间的大小刚好能让我们听到声音是从正确位置的扬声器发出的!我们当时正在改造杜比全景声混音棚和杜比全景声影厅,混音棚的墙刚建完,我们就把设备移到那里,然后我便开始进行杜比全景声的混音和调音。
 
 
Coalition studio.jpg
 
 
由于这是第一个支持杜比全景声的主机游戏,因此我们大部分时间都花在了解决漏洞、试验能做什么和不能做什么,以及找出最佳方案上,目的是在《战争机器 5》开始时能用这些经验。我们无法回到过去,重新制作出杜比全景声的电影效果,但是在《战争机器 4》中的所有游戏都是可以用杜比全景声格式呈现的。
 
我们在《战争机器 4》中学到的一件事,同样也应用在了《战争机器 5》上,就是把动效拟音和人声放在7.1音床上。由于是第三人称游戏,镜头位于玩家上方,在默认位置略微向前倾斜。这让脚步声和说话声大部分时间都在前置高度通道出现,这让人感觉很不自然,很混乱。
 
你是如何搭建工作室并对空间音频进行混音的?
 
在我们完成《战争机器 4》杜比全景声版本升级后,我们继续对杜比全景声混音棚进行改造。电影效果是在 Pro Tools 中混音的,并作为 7.1.4 主干输出,而不是 7.1 + 3D 对象,因为我们的 Wwise 版本无法读取编码的对象数据。
 
 

杜比全景声工作室

Frank Faugno 在 Logan Wall 的帮助下,完成了大部分的电影效果剪辑、设计、混音和母版制作,其余电影效果由我们在 SourceSound 的朋友完成。

杜比全景声影厅

游戏和电影效果的混音和音频审核经常在我们的杜比全景声影厅进行,在那里我们可以感受到游戏的全部高光时刻!

{{ currentIndex }}

/

{{ pagesCountIndex }}

 

我们也花了大量时间混音和审核 7.1、5.1、立体声和 Dolby Atmos for Headphones,以确保无论玩家使用哪种系统,都能有很棒的游戏体验。不幸的是,Wwise 还没有很多动态的杜比全景声混音工具,所以除了我们把动效拟音和人声限制在 7.1,其他声音听起来仅仅是在它们应该在的地方。

 
游戏中是否有杜比全景声最高光的时刻?
 
在游戏开场,玩家需要从直升机上放下一根绳子才能进入通道。我们在这一场景设置了许多点发射器,给玩家一种身处丛林和野生动物之中的奇妙感受。这是对杜比全景声的绝佳引入。
 
在游戏的前半部分还有一个电影效果,就是 JD 被黎明之锤击中的声音,听起来非常奇妙!当然,任何时候秃鹰或乌鸦飞过头顶的声音也很酷。
 

Josh Osiris 是获得美国音效剪辑协会奖的声音设计师,自 2005 年以来一直从事于游戏行业。在温哥华电影学院获得声音设计学位后,他开始了自己的职业生涯,设计和创造了许多自适应音频系统,为《极品飞车》中的汽车带来了活力和刺激。此后,他在微软温哥华的数十款规模不同的视频游戏和多媒体项目中担任声音设计师、音频主管和技术艺术家。他目前作为高级声音设计师和技术音频艺术家,将自己的才华集中在《战争机器》上。

Josh Osiris 是获得美国音效剪辑协会奖的声音设计师,自 2005 年以来一直从事于游戏行业。在温哥华电影学院获得声音设计学位后,他开始了自己的职业生涯,设计和创造了许多自适应音频系统,为《极品飞车》中的汽车带来了活力和刺激。此后,他在微软温哥华的数十款规模不同的视频游戏和多媒体项目中担任声音设计师、音频主管和技术艺术家。他目前作为高级声音设计师和技术音频艺术家,将自己的才华集中在《战争机器》上。

探索更多

Sounding off with Gears 5
Sounding off with Gears 5

Q&A 

Sounding off with Gears 5

{{ videoLinkButton.text }} {{ videoLinkButton.text }}
Gears 5 is The Coalition's second Dolby Atmos title, with five thrilling game modes and the deepest campaign yet. After adding Dolby Atmos to Gears of War 4, the audio team referenced their learnings to level up the sound design for Gears 5. Josh Osiris, Sr. Sound Designer at The Coalition, is here to share more about how his team brought Dolby Atmos to the latest installment in the Gears of War saga.
How does the sound design in Gears 5 differ from the design in Gears of War 4?
 
After Gears 4 shipped, we took a step back and looked at how we could improve the soundscape and audio presentation for the next game. One of the guiding principles was to bring clarity and focus that supports gameplay in a way that feels natural. We focused on foley and weapons early on because they were a huge part of game feedback. 
 

Foley and weapons
Edward Bauman remastered our entire foley set to make it clearer and more dynamic. I remastered the Lancer to bring back some of the punch that was lost over a few games of iteration, and removed much of the noise, while Ed added some medium/far distance content to help the player know how far away the shots are.
Environmental emitters
We no longer use volumes that flip On/Off 2D ambient beds, but instead heavily lean into point emitter sounds. This uses more memory and voices, but it spatializes much better, and gives us a more convincing and natural sounding environment that takes advantage of the Dolby Atmos height channels.
Weak spots and headshots
In Gears 4, we used a sweetener to tell the player when they’ve hit an enemy, with no differentiation between a regular hit and a weak spot. The weak spots now have their own treatment and vary depending on the type of character being shot. We also used to mix headshots the same way regardless if the player got the headshot, or someone else. Now we put more emphasis on headshots by the player, since it’s such a satisfying moment, and headshots by an enemy to draw attention to the threat.
Threat prioritization
We overhauled the mixing system to help focus the player’s attention on what is most important from moment to moment. Jimmy Smith and I added a threat-based priority system, coupled with Wwise HDR, that dynamically focuses the mix on higher threat characters over lower threat characters. We also implemented player, squad, and enemy content separately to further focus priority and improve performance.

John Morgan and Clarence Chu put a lot of effort into upgrading and tuning our real-time acoustics system with Microsoft Research’s “Triton” and Audiokinetic’s “Wwise Reflect.” This has to be heard to understand how amazing it is. You can feel the size of a space and the kind of material it is made of. I’ve never heard anything like it in a game before!

The dynamic mix, occlusion from Triton, and height channels together deliver such precise moment-to-moment feedback.

Josh Osiris

I built a multi-band sidechain compressor in Wwise to help prioritize each of our sub-mixes (i.e. Speech, Weapons, Foley, Music, Environment) by dynamically ducking lower priority content in a way that feels more natural than a traditional single band ducking system. Each of these sub-mixes respond to the rest of the game by dynamically lowering and raising itself to fit the overall loudness of the game at any given moment. 
 
The dynamic mix, occlusion from Triton, and height channels together deliver such precise moment-to-moment feedback. Playing with Dolby Atmos for Headphones or a Dolby Atmos enabled home theater system gives the player a definitive advantage over someone that is not playing with Dolby Atmos.
 
You supported spatial audio in Gears of War 4. Did you do anything differently in the design or studio process for Gears 5? 
 
We started working on Dolby Atmos for Gears 4 after the game launched. At the time, we did not have an audio room large enough for all the speakers, so we jury-rigged a speaker system in a meeting room that was just big enough for us to hear that sounds were coming out of the correct speakers! We were in the middle of renovations, which included a Dolby Atmos mixing room and theater. Once the walls went up in the mixing room, we moved the gear there, and I started on the Dolby Atmos remix and tuning.
 
 
Coalition studio.jpg
 
 
Since we were the first console game to support Dolby Atmos, much of the time was spent working out bugs, experimenting with what we could and could not do, and figuring out our best approach for that game, with the intent to use this knowledge at the start of Gears 5.  We were not able to go back and remix the cinematics for Dolby Atmos, but all gameplay in Gears of War 4 is presented in Dolby Atmos.
 
One thing we learned during Gears of War 4, that we also did in Gears 5, was to keep foley and speech in the 7.1 bed. Due to being a third-person game, the camera is above the player and slightly tilted forward at its default position. This made footsteps and speech play a bit in the front height channels most of the time, which felt unnatural and confusing.
 
What does your studio set-up and mixing workflow look like for spatial audio?
 
After we completed the Gears of War 4 Dolby Atmos upgrade, we continued renovations in the Dolby Atmos mixing room. Cinematics were mixed in Pro Tools and output as 7.1.4 stems, rather than 7.1 + 3D Objects, because our version of Wwise is unable to read the encoded object data.
 
 

Dolby Atmos studio

Frank Faugno, with assistance from Logan Wall, did most of the cinematic editing, designing, mixing and mastering, except for a few cinematics that were done by our friends at SourceSound.

Dolby Atmos theater

Mixing and audio reviews for gameplay and cinematics were often done in our Dolby Atmos theater, where we could hear the game in its full glory!

{{ currentIndex }}

/

{{ pagesCountIndex }}

We spent plenty of time mixing and reviewing in 7.1, 5.1, stereo and Dolby Atmos for headphones as well, to ensure the game sounded great no matter what kind of system a player is using. Unfortunately, Wwise does not yet have many dynamic Dolby Atmos mixing tools, so for the most part sounds pan to where they should be, and that’s it. Except for foley and speech, that we restricted to 7.1.
 
 
Is there a moment in the game where Dolby Atmos really shines? 
 
The opening gameplay has the player descend a rope from a helicopter into a cenote. There are lots of point emitters that give a wonderful sense of foliage and wildlife all around the player. It’s a fantastic introduction to Dolby Atmos. 
 
There’s also a cinematic early in the game where JD gets hit by the Hammer of Dawn it sounds amazing!  And of course, any time the Condor or Raven fly overhead is pretty cool.
 

Josh Osiris is an MPSE award winning sound designer that has been in the games industry since 2005. After completing a degree in Sound Design at the Vancouver Film School, he started his career designing and building numerous adaptive audio systems that brought life and excitement to the cars of Need for Speed. He has since served as sound designer, audio lead and technical artist on dozens of video games and multimedia projects of every scale at Microsoft Vancouver. He currently focuses his talents on Gears of War as Senior Sound Designer and Technical Audio Artist.

Josh Osiris is an MPSE award winning sound designer that has been in the games industry since 2005. After completing a degree in Sound Design at the Vancouver Film School, he started his career designing and building numerous adaptive audio systems that brought life and excitement to the cars of Need for Speed. He has since served as sound designer, audio lead and technical artist on dozens of video games and multimedia projects of every scale at Microsoft Vancouver. He currently focuses his talents on Gears of War as Senior Sound Designer and Technical Audio Artist.

Explore More

Let's connect!

Get in touch with our Developer Relations team.
Have questions about how to make your game in Dolby?
Our Developer Relations team is here to help!