拥有 3D 音频的 2D 游戏:《奥日和萤火意志》

Kristoffer Larson

{{ videoLinkButton.text }} {{ videoLinkButton.text }}

Formosa Group 应 Moon Studios 的要求,进行了全流程的《奥日和萤火意志》的音频服务。这个游戏是屡获奖项的《奥日与黑暗森林》的一个备受期待的续作。我们想把奥日的声音世界提升一个档次,获得当前科技能达到的最沉浸的声音体验。

 

我们这个项目其中一个核心目标,就是让奥日的体验升级到 Xbox One 和 PC 上能做到的顶级体验,与此同时还要保证所有声道模式下都能获得足够优秀的混音,尤其是在立体声和耳机里。通过使用杜比全景声和 Microsoft Spatial Audio 格式,我们可以做到原生地在沉浸式音频的环境下进行创作和混音,并依托强大的声音下变换算法来提供同等令人信服的 7.1、5.1 和立体声混音。

 
Ori Spider.jpg
 
 
但是为什么要在一个“2D”游戏上花时间和资源来进行“3D” 的声音展现呢?

 

第一,《奥日与萤火意志》虽然主要的游戏动作玩法上是 2D 的,但是它的世界里是有很多“深度”的。在环境中有非常多的细节和维度感,都暗示着可玩区域之外的世界。我们希望用声音来增加这种空间和维度感。

 

第二,在它的关卡设计和玩法上有巨量的纵向的设计,所以需要在声音的空间定位上利用好 Z 轴,当上面有东西的时候,能有效提示玩家去探索上方区域。

 

第三,有一个更宽的声音舞台带来的优势,是能帮助你得到一个非常开放和自然的声音混音效果。会有更多的声像和定位的可能性,来让你放置声音元素,让这些声音元素不那么冲突,所以我不用像以前那么夸张的进行压缩或 EQ 处理,就能让声音恰如其分。

 

 

另一个常见问题是,每当涉及到环绕制作的时候就会有人反问 “究竟有多少人有这样大型的杜比全景声家庭影院呢?”

 

我们的回答是:通过大部分平台支持的操作系统级别的空间音频虚拟技术,任何人只要有一副耳机都可以有机会听到一个非常好的环绕展现。这也是《奥日与萤火意志》在 Xbox One 和 PC 上的应用案例。另外,使用到的音频引擎是 Audiokinetic 的 Wwise ,所以整个游戏无需任何额外的工程技术支持就已经准备好输出空间音频了。

目标平台和开发工具的结合,大大促进了整件事的无缝连接,在非常早期就可以直接进入到杜比全景声的设计和混音中来。

Kristoffer Larson

匹配视觉保真度

 

我们的目标之一是把奥日和萤火意志创作并混音出一个空间音频的版本,但是这并不是仅仅为得到一个盒子背面的广告而做出的粗浅决定。我们深知额外的这个维度和沉浸感恰恰是能和这款游戏中美丽世界的视觉深度互相匹配的。所以,我们不是要顾名思义地获得一些飞来飞去的对象,而是努力找到空间音频的合适的应用场合和不同的强度,来帮助和提升游戏视觉和主题上正在发生的东西。

 

 

更具深度和清晰度的氛围

 

环境声是自然而然的被想到能使用到环绕和空间的内容。制作大的多轨音床,而是选择使用动态定位的单声道和立体声声源,伴随着实时混响和延时的这种方案。这样不仅节省了传输带宽,而且提供了几乎无限的变化。每个元素都被赋予了一个自动化路径,配合着和这个特定的内容相关的 Spread 的量,移动,以及随机化。
 
 
 
01_OriWwiseAutomation.png
在 Wwise 里进行自动化声像控制
 

内容根据剧情进行有逻辑地放置。

  • 上层位置:类似鸟鸣声和树林里的风声
  • 中间位置:普通的风声和动态环境
  • 下层位置:地表的声音,如草地和植物叶子的沙沙声
 

和传统的环绕混音一样,我们把重心还是放在房间的前面,来保证不出画,也不会因为侧方和后方过多的动作而干扰玩家。

 

点声源和游戏对象的声音

 

另一个最明显的元素就是游戏世界中带着具体方位的发声体了。这些物件和角色根据等级设计和 AI 移动自己赋予自己声像。
 

纵向玩法

纵向玩法的关卡设计在《奥日和萤火意志》中大量存在,当你听到声音从上方传来时,往往就是让你去探索那里的一个线索。

高耸入云的 Boss 们

这方面在打 Boss 的时候效果非常好,因为他们体型普遍非常大。对于每一个 Boss 来说,声音来自于它们对应的正确的发声源是非常有必要的,比如头,触角,翅膀,脚等等,来实现空间定位的精准度。

影视化

游戏中的剧情和小插曲是少数几个我们可以非常强烈地进行声像处理的地方,来获得戏剧性效果。比如,主要敌人,Shriek,是一个巨大的猫头鹰,经常通过飞跃头顶来告知她的到来。

{{ currentIndex }}

/

{{ pagesCountIndex }}

我们为剧情线和小插曲,以组合的形式集成了一些游戏引擎里的声源,大部分是环境和角色,以及 12 通道的 7.1.4 stem。就像任何游戏,这种引擎内的声音和 stem 的组合无缝地衔接了游戏的影视化效果的进和出。什么内容需要离线完成取决于它的复杂度,比如即将是一个一次性播放的桥段,或有时就是看制作周期。这些 stem 是在 Nuendo 中制作的,并导出了多个单声道文件,之后通过 Wwise 的 Multi-Channel Creator 工具进行 interleaved 合并。
 
 
监听

 

当然,在整个项目中我们需要监听到声音,来保障我们的成果在所有常见格式和设备中都能运行完好。在我和我的两个同事之间,我们不停地来来回回切换 7.1.4 全景声喇叭、立体声喇叭以及耳机(带和不带空间虚拟)。另外,在开发的混音阶段,我也完整地进行了不同环境下专业的和民用的 7.1、5.1 和立体声测试。
Formosa Group 沉浸式编辑套件
整体上看,混音在不同制式下的还原都是优秀的,我们也没有做任何修改和妥协。只有一个出现几次的问题,就是在对比喇叭或虚拟化后的声场,以及普通的非空间化的立体声耳机之间,声像的 spread 相关的问题。因为在不管是虚拟的还是物理的声学环境,会产生自然的 crosstalk,而我们的左/右声像在从一个不带虚拟声像处理的普通耳机上会显得过于极左极右。我们最后找到了一个声像的中间地带,能够在喇叭或虚拟上提供足够好的定位性,而不会在立体声耳机上过于 hard-panned。
 
 
混音的目标与工具

 

就像绝大多数的游戏项目,虽然在开发周期的末期会有混音阶段,大部分的混音还是在开发的早期就开始了的,并伴随着游戏一步步的完整持续跟进。当系统上线或内容开发出来后,我们都会很留心它会如何影响到声场以及对应的混音。在这个过程的早期,我们设立了一些响度的指导文件,关于不同种类的比如音乐、角色声音、环境音、影视化等等。把这些作为混音的基本骨架,我们在 Wwise 内部制作了总线和构架,根据游戏内发声的东西,既从音色角度,也从设计和游戏状态角度动态地调节混音。
 
02_Wwise_mixer.jpg
Wwise 中的总线和结构。
 
我想让这个游戏听起来非常有动态,比如大型东西非常猛烈的撞击,环境跟着包络但是不被侵入。所有的这些都需要优美的音乐作为混音的中心点。因为我们使用了所有的工具和技巧来让弹出的内容进入到这个空间声场,所以混音阶段几乎都花在调整和控制 3D attenuation,游戏对象的发声器位置,以及总线动态范围上。最终目标是让所有的元素都能找到舒适和自然的区域,并用很少的强力压缩和 EQ 来让事物合适。
 

空间平台混音允许我有更多的余地来在音乐上进行试验,而不必担心听起来定位奇怪或不自然。

Kristoffer Larson

因为音乐是立体声编曲和混音的,所以它需要放在前置 LR 主音箱上。而空间平台混音允许我有更多的余地来在音乐上进行试验,而不必担心听起来定位奇怪或不自然。仅仅一点点定位的 Spread 就能帮助声音被清晰地听到。值得一提的是,不论是通过杜比全景声渲染的下变换,还是 Wwise 内部的路由都能让声音听起来很好,这无疑是做出了正确的“决定”,保留了我所追求的声音美学。

 

 

最后的想法

 

我非常开心我们能够为《奥日和萤火意志》创作出如此丰富和沉浸的声音体验,我们为最终出来的效果而骄傲。目标平台和开发工具的结合,大大促进了整件事的无缝连接,让我在非常早期就可以直接进入到杜比全景声的设计和混音中来。
屡获殊荣的资深音频师 Kristoffer Larson 于 2016 年夏天加入了 Formosa Group。拥有超过二十年的声音经验,包括后期、游戏、VR/AR。Larson 深深理解开发者所想。一个项目从创意到集成所有阶段的协作完成的时候是他最开心的时刻。近期的在 Formosa 参与的项目包括《奥日与萤火意志》、《漫威突击力量》、《腐烂国度 2》,以及《ISS 行动》。
 
在加入 Formosa 之前,Larson 在华盛顿州西雅图建立了自己的公司,Tension Studios。经过多年以声音角色参与了诸如 Cranky Pants Games,Konami,WB Games 和杜比实验室等公司的项目后,他的目标变成了建立一个以游戏为中心的音频工作室,专注于互动项目的开发。他的独特的成果和经验可以在 Tiny Bubbles,Fable:The Journey,State of Decay 和 Halo 4 中体验。
屡获殊荣的资深音频师 Kristoffer Larson 于 2016 年夏天加入了 Formosa Group。拥有超过二十年的声音经验,包括后期、游戏、VR/AR。Larson 深深理解开发者所想。一个项目从创意到集成所有阶段的协作完成的时候是他最开心的时刻。近期的在 Formosa 参与的项目包括《奥日与萤火意志》、《漫威突击力量》、《腐烂国度 2》,以及《ISS 行动》。
 
在加入 Formosa 之前,Larson 在华盛顿州西雅图建立了自己的公司,Tension Studios。经过多年以声音角色参与了诸如 Cranky Pants Games,Konami,WB Games 和杜比实验室等公司的项目后,他的目标变成了建立一个以游戏为中心的音频工作室,专注于互动项目的开发。他的独特的成果和经验可以在 Tiny Bubbles,Fable:The Journey,State of Decay 和 Halo 4 中体验。

A 2D Game with 3D sound: Ori and the Will of Wisps
A 2D Game with 3D sound: Ori and the Will of Wisps

A 2D Game with 3D sound: Ori and the Will of Wisps

by Kristoffer Larson

{{ videoLinkButton.text }} {{ videoLinkButton.text }}
Formosa Group was asked by Moon Studios to provide end-to-end audio services for Ori and the Will of the Wisps, a much-anticipated sequel to their award-winning Ori and the Blind Forest. We wanted to upgrade the sonic world of Ori to a truly next-generation level by using the latest technologies to provide the most immersive audio experience possible.
 
One of our core goals for this project was to update the Ori experience to the state-of-the-art capabilities of the Xbox One and PCs while still providing an excellent mix for all audio channel configurations, especially stereo and headphones. By working with the Dolby Atmos and Microsoft Spatial Audio formats we were able to create and mix natively in the immersive audio realm as well as rely on the great sounding downmixing algorithms to deliver equally compelling mixes for 7.1, 5.1, and stereo.
 
Ori Spider.jpg
 
 
But why opt to spend time and resources on a “3D” audio presentation for what is essentially a “2D” game?  
 
First off, Ori and the Will of the Wisps may have most of the gameplay action in 2D, however it still has a lot of depth within the world.  It has so much detail and dimensionality in its environments that alludes to a “there” beyond the playable area. We wanted the audio to add to that sense of space and immersion.  
 
Secondly, there is a large amount of verticality used in the level design and gameplay, so being able to spatialize audio in the z axis really helps to inform the player when there is more to explore “above” them.  
 
Thirdly, the general benefit of having a much wider soundstage makes for a really open and natural sounding mix.  There are more panning and positioning options to place elements so they don’t conflict as much, so I don’t need to compress or EQ as drastically just to make things fit.
 
 
The next question invariably is How many people have big Dolby Atmos home theaters anyway?
 
With spatial audio virtualization supported on most platforms, anyone with a set of headphones has the opportunity to hear a great surround presentation. This was naturally the case with Ori and the Will of the Wisps being developed for Xbox One and PC. Plus, the audio engine was Audiokinetic’s Wwise, so the game was essentially ready to output spatial audio without any additional engineering support.

The combination of the target platforms and the development tools made it essentially frictionless to be able to jump right in to design and mix in Dolby Atmos from the very beginning.

Kristoffer Larson

Matching the visual fidelity
 
While one of our goals was to create and mix Ori and the Will of the Wisps in a spatial sound presentation, it wasn’t an arbitrary decision to tick off a feature for back-of-the-box marketing. We knew that the extra dimensionality and immersion was exactly the sort of treatment that would match the visual fidelity of this beautiful game. So instead of flying objects around just for the sake of doing so, we worked on finding the appropriate circumstances and level of intensity for spatial audio to enhance and support what was happening in the game visually and thematically.
 
 
Ambience with more depth and clarity
 
Environment sounds are a natural subject for surround or spatial content. Instead of creating wide multichannel beds, we opted for dynamically panned mono and stereo sources, coupled with runtime reverb and delay. This approach not only saved on streaming bandwidth but provided a way to have almost infinite variation. Each element was given its own set of automation paths, dialing in the amount of spread, movement, and randomness that was appropriate for that particular piece of content.
 
 
01_OriWwiseAutomation.png
Panning automation in Wwise.
 
 
Content was placed logically according to context. 
  • High placement: bird-like vocalizations and wind-in-trees types of sounds
  • Middle placement: general wind and ambient motion
  • Low placement: ground-based sounds like grass and foliage rustle
 
Like in a traditional surround mix, we biased more towards the front of the room in order to maintain the focus on the screen and the game you’re playing, not distracting the player with too much extraneous action to the sides or behind them.
 
Spot and game object sounds
 
The next most obvious elements would be sound emitters coming from a specific location in the game world. The props and characters created their own panning based on level design and AI movement.
 

Vertical gameplay

Level design abounds are where the verticality of the world was enhanced by being able to hear the sounds coming from above you, sometimes as a clue of where to explore next.

Towering bosses

This also worked out especially well for our boss battles because most of them are quite large.  For each boss it was essential that sounds were correctly associated with their appropriate emitter — head, wing, foot, etc. for spatial accuracy.

Cinematics

In-game cutscenes and vignettes were the few places where we could really push some more intense panning for dramatic effect. For example, the main antagonist, Shriek, was a giant owl that frequently flew overhead for her introduction into the scene.

{{ currentIndex }}

/

{{ pagesCountIndex }}

Another obvious choice for appropriate usage of spatial audio were the in-game cutscenes and vignettes. We implemented them with a combination of in-engine sources, mostly ambience and characters, and 12 channel stems in a 7.1.4 configuration. Like any game, this combination of in-engine and stems lends itself to a seamless transition in and out of cinematics. The decision of what would be done offline was based on the complexity of the content, if it was going to be a custom one-off, or sometimes just the production schedule.  The stems were created in Nuendo and exported as multi-mono files, which were in turn interleaved using the Wwise Multi-Channel Creator.
 
 
Monitoring
 
Naturally throughout the entire project we needed to be able to monitor the audio to ensure that our work was translating well in all of the common formats and devices. Between myself and my two audio leads, we were constantly going back and forth between 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos speakers, stereo speakers, and headphones (with and without spatial virtualization). Additionally, during the mixing stage of development, I ran compatibility testing in 7.1, 5.1, and stereo in various professional and consumer environments. 
Formosa Group immersive editorial suites
Overall, the translation of the mix into different configurations was excellent and we did not need to make many changes or compromises. The only thing that did come up a few times was related to panning spread when comparing speakers or virtualized spatial renders to regular non-spatialized stereo headphones. Because of natural crosstalk in acoustic spaces, whether virtual or physical, our left/right panning sounded a little too extreme when monitored in headphones without virtualization. We ended up finding a nice middle-ground for our panning that still provided good directionality on speakers or virtualized, but without sounding too hard-panned over stereo headphones.
 
 
Mix goals and tools
 
As with most game projects, while there was a mix phase near the end of the development cycle, the bulk of the mix work started early in the development process and continued every step of the way as the game came together. As systems came online or content was implemented, we were always mindful of how it impacted the soundscape and the relative mix. Early in the process we established some loudness guidelines for classes of content such as music, character sounds, environmental audio, cinematics, etc. Using these as a rough skeleton of the mix, we created busses and structures within Wwise to dynamically adjust the mix according to what was happening in the game, both sonically as well as design or gamestate driven. 
 
02_Wwise_mixer.jpg
Busses and structures within Wwise. 
 
I wanted the game to sound very dynamic, with the big stuff hitting hard and the environment to be enveloping but not intrusive. It all needed to work with the amazing music being a central component of the mix. Because we were using every tool and trick for populating content into the spatial landscape, the mix phase was spent almost exclusively tweaking and manipulating 3D attenuations, emitter locations on game objects, and bus dynamics. The goal was to find a comfortable and natural space for each element with as little need for brute-force compression and EQ just to make things fit.
 

Mixing for spatial platforms allowed me to use so much more of the room to work around the music without it sounding oddly placed or unnatural.

Kristoffer Larson

Because the music was composed and mixed in stereo, it needed to be up front in the left/right mains. Mixing for spatial platforms allowed me to use so much more of the room to work around the music without it sounding oddly placed or unnatural. Just a little bit of positional spread helps items be heard clearly. Remarkably, the downmix whether via Dolby Atmos renderer or Wwise’s internal routing still sounded great and felt like they made the right “decisions” to preserve the aesthetic intent of what I was trying to do.

 
Final thoughts
 
I’m really happy that we were able to create such a rich and immersive audio presentation for Ori and the Will of the Wisps, we’re really proud of how everything came together in the end. The combination of the target platforms and the development tools made it essentially frictionless to be able to jump right in to design and mix in Dolby Atmos from the very beginning. 

 

Award-winning sound veteran Kristoffer Larson joined Formosa Group in the summer of 2016. With over two decades of sound experience, including post, games, and VR/AR, Larson truly understands the needs of developers. He’s happiest when a project is collaborative across all levels, from concept to integration. Recent projects with Formosa include Ori and the Will of the Wisps, Marvel Strike Force, State of Decay 2, and Mission: ISS.
 
Prior to joining Formosa, Larson founded his own company, Tension Studios, based in Seattle, Washington. After having spent years in various internal audio roles with companies like Cranky Pants Games, Konami, WB Games, and Dolby Labs, his goal was to create a game-centric audio studio that specifically catered to interactive development. His unique approach and experience can be heard on Tiny Bubbles, Fable: The Journey, State of Decay, and Halo 4.
Award-winning sound veteran Kristoffer Larson joined Formosa Group in the summer of 2016. With over two decades of sound experience, including post, games, and VR/AR, Larson truly understands the needs of developers. He’s happiest when a project is collaborative across all levels, from concept to integration. Recent projects with Formosa include Ori and the Will of the Wisps, Marvel Strike Force, State of Decay 2, and Mission: ISS.
 
Prior to joining Formosa, Larson founded his own company, Tension Studios, based in Seattle, Washington. After having spent years in various internal audio roles with companies like Cranky Pants Games, Konami, WB Games, and Dolby Labs, his goal was to create a game-centric audio studio that specifically catered to interactive development. His unique approach and experience can be heard on Tiny Bubbles, Fable: The Journey, State of Decay, and Halo 4.

Let's connect!

Get in touch with our Developer Relations team.
Have questions about how to make your game in Dolby?
Our Developer Relations team is here to help!